to join the Xbox community. Not a member yet? Join now!

Community in online games is "dead", says The Division devel

Your comments on our articles.

"People are afraid to talk in games because they're going to get yelled at by some 12-year-old kid."

There's no sense of fellowship in online gaming anymore, according to Ubisoft Massive's Ryan Barnard - everybody's too worried about juvenile trolls, and developers and publishers are so willing to give up a game's secrets that players don't need to ask each other for help. Barnard plans to change all that with Tom Clancy's The Division, a post-apocalyptic survival sim for current gen, next gen and PC.... read more

Postby Bezza89 » 14 Nov 2013, 13:12

I think it's more about the amount of people, it makes the trolls more frequent and good people less frequent when you have millions playing the game.

I remember playing splinter cell DA with some random American dude, and we had an awesome time, he was experienced, I was a noob, he was teaching me all the tricks - I was running around an enemy asking him how to bop him one in spies v mercs. That's a game you can't really troll on, so everyone is pretty nice, there's only a few who play it and they want to play it, they're not just there to disrupt the order. Ironically, the PR guy not saying much about his game might actually make most people oblivious to the game, smaller sales allowing for a greater community.

Is the game definitely out for PC?
...and if you tell that to the kids of today, they wont believe you!
Bezza89 69

Postby skellen79 » 14 Nov 2013, 13:13

I could not be more excited for this game as it is. I think the original reveal footage was more than enough for me.
I left in love, in laughter, and in truth and where ever truth, love and laughter abide, I will be there in spirit.
Bill Hicks 1961-1994
skellen79 30

Postby battfink83 » 14 Nov 2013, 13:18